Establishment of the Chinese American Society of Anesthesiology

The Chinese American Society of Anesthesiology (CASA) was officially established on 2/9/2003, Sunday, at the Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel of Flushing, New York.

About 60 members attended the opening ceremony. The officers of the current term are:
President: Hai-ming Wang, MD (NY); President-elect: Hai-feng Zhou, MD (NJ); Secretary: Naixi Li, MD (NY); Treasurer: Liao-yang Xie, MD (NY); Assistant Secretary: Chang-zheng Wang, MD (NJ); Assistant Treasurer: Xi-song Huang, MD (NY).

As the national organization, CASA covers the whole nation with six Chapters. Five delegates are elected from each Chapter. Among the established Chinese American Anesthesiologists who made significant contribution to Anesthesiology, five people were recruited as the honorary members. They are: Fun-sun Yao, MD, Professor at Cornell Medical College; Letty Liu, MD, Professor at MGH; Philip Liu, MD, Professor at UMDNJ; KC Wang, MD, Professor at University of Utah Medical School; Wen-shien Wu, MD, Professor at UMDNJ.

Dr. Haiming Wang, as the first-term President, speaked at the meeting about the purpose of this Society, and the perspective of this organization. Dr. Naixi Li briefly introduced the Bylaws. They both answered the questions at the meeting of common concerns. Dr. Yue Tang, the Delegate of the Resident Section, speaked on behalf of residents. At the end of the meeting, Dr. Fun-sun Yao, Professor of Anesthesiology made a short speech, and expressed the happiness to see the establishment of CASA. Dr. Bing-Lu, the president of the Association of Chinese American Physicians, offered the warm welcome to CASA as the first subspecity organization among Chinese American Physicians. Before the meeting, CASA also received the congratulatory email from the president of ASA, Dr. James Cottrell.